Changing the sides of the two players in rally

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

oinam singh

oinam singh Asked 6 years ago

Hello Jeff,

Could you explain the rule for the match between Timo Boll and other player at YouTube video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=53mUpg6lDOw at around 6:15 play time the two player changes the side due to the position of the ball. Is it a legal game? If so what is the rule for this? Can player hit to other side of the table instead of hitting to opponent side? Another same style of playing is there at the end of this video between Vladimir Samsonov-Chen Weixing for the match also separate link for this at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=odbvUJe5bx4 at playtime around 4:47. 

Thanks,

Oinam Singh


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Oinam,

You are allowed to change sides.  I think this is a bit of fun.  They are actually hitting the ball on to the correct side but because they had changed ends it looks a bit funny.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.