Can my racket touch the table?

Rules

nishanth g
nishanth g Asked 15 years ago

If the racket touches the table during the play is there a point?


Jeff Plumb
Member Badge Jeff Plumb Answered 15 years ago

Hi Nishanth,

Your racket is allowed to touch the table during a point (as long as it doesn't move the table). It is even OK for your elbow to touch the table. You can't place your non-playing hand on the table however. If you do that you lose the point.

We cover this in our video lesson on the rules.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ball on the Full

In this video we explain what happens when someone hits the ball before it bounces in a rally. This is also known as hitting the ball on the full. The point stop immediately when this happens but who's point is it? This depends on where the ball was hit. Watch the video to find out more.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.