Calling a serve let in the middle of a point

Rules

Abhinav Upadhyay
Abhinav Upadhyay Asked 11 years ago

Hi Alois,

In the currently ongoing WTTC 2014 tournament, I saw a point in the match between (I believe quarter finals) Timo Boll (Germany) vs Chun Ting Wong (Hongkong), where Chun Ting was serving and after two or three exchanges Timo pointed out it was a let. Do the rules allow players to do this so late in the point, if the umpire has not seen the ball touching the net? 

The point is played at around 13:36 if you watch the video on the ITTF website.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 11 years ago

Hi Abhinav,

The players will decide between themselves that it was a let even if the umpire hasn’t seen it and they will slow down till the umpire calls it.  I think there is a lot of goodwill between the players to allow this to happen.

That is what happens in this situation.  They both realise it is a let.  Chun Ting plays one ball and then realises that it was a let and Boll has also seen it.  The umpire does the right thing in my opinion in calling a let.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.