Calling a serve let in the middle of a point

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 years ago

Abhinav Upadhyay

Abhinav Upadhyay Asked 5 years ago

Hi Alois,

In the currently ongoing WTTC 2014 tournament, I saw a point in the match between (I believe quarter finals) Timo Boll (Germany) vs Chun Ting Wong (Hongkong), where Chun Ting was serving and after two or three exchanges Timo pointed out it was a let. Do the rules allow players to do this so late in the point, if the umpire has not seen the ball touching the net? 

The point is played at around 13:36 if you watch the video on the ITTF website.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 5 years ago

Hi Abhinav,

The players will decide between themselves that it was a let even if the umpire hasn’t seen it and they will slow down till the umpire calls it.  I think there is a lot of goodwill between the players to allow this to happen.

That is what happens in this situation.  They both realise it is a let.  Chun Ting plays one ball and then realises that it was a let and Boll has also seen it.  The umpire does the right thing in my opinion in calling a let.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.