Bumping the opponent in a rally

Rules

Viet Dang Xuan
Viet Dang Xuan Asked 11 years ago

Hi Alois/Jeff

This is a situation I've just thought of. Though I 've never faced this situation in the real life, I still want an answer so I hope you can help me :)

In a smash-lob rally, the smasher suddenly made a dropshot. The lobber rushed in and managed to return it. But his momentum was too high that he can't stop, keep running, cross to the other side and bumped the opponent. Both fell down when the opponent didn't even touch the ball. So who gets the point?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 11 years ago

Hi Viet,

This would be the smashers point because the lobber has come onto the smashers side and interfered with them.


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Xariuz Cruz

Xariuz Cruz Posted 11 years ago

LOL, everyone should be laughing at that time


Viet Dang Xuan

Viet Dang Xuan Posted 11 years ago

Hi Alois, 

Thanks for the answer. But why can't I see any part talking about this in the official rules?


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.