Bouncing before serving

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 months ago

James Hamilton

James Hamilton Asked 5 months ago

When serving, if the server bounces the ball either to his hand or on to the floor or table a few times as some professional Tennis Players do before actually serving the ball?

Is this allowed or is that classified as a fault serve result in losing a point within a Table Tennis match?

PS. really enjoy your site and videos. 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 5 months ago

Hi James,

This is allowed in Table Tennis as well.  A lot of Table Tennis players will do this as well.  They often bounce the ball on the table instead of the floor as the floor is rubberised and doesn't bounce as well.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

James Hamilton

James Hamilton Posted 5 months ago

Many thanks Alois for your help, much appreciated it.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 months ago

No problems James.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.