Blade switches during game

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

Arnon Thaicharoen

Arnon Thaicharoen Asked 6 years ago

Hi Alois/Jeff,

I have two questions but both of them involve TT blade usage rules.

The first one, in doubles, both player A and B are on the same side. When player A dropped his blade, can player B hands his own blade for player A to use and then grabs Player A's blade? In short, can doubles players exchange their blades during play?

The second question: once in play, can one change one's blade on a whim? For example, in game one, one uses blade A, in game two, uses blade B and so on.

Thank you.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Arnon,

You are not allowed to change your racket without the approval of the umpire.  The only reason you can change rackets is if you damage it accidentally.  YOu then need to show it to the umpire and the other player if they want to see it as well.

Therefore you could not change with your partner either.  It is an interesting concept though.

Here are the relevant rules in the ITTF regulations:

3.04.02.04  A racket shall not be replaced during an individual match unless it is accidentally damaged so badly that it cannot be used; if this happens the damaged racket shall be replaced immediately by another which the player has brought with him or her to the playing area or one which is handed to him or her in the playing area. 
2.04.08 

Before the start of a match and whenever he or she changes his or her racket during a match a player shall show his or her opponent and the umpire the racket he or she is about to use and shall allow them to examine it. 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.