Before you serve

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

bryne disney

bryne disney Asked 6 years ago

When both players are in position to play can the server hit the ball in the air and catch it and then serve, or hit the ball (bounce) off the floor before a serve.ie tennis style.

Cheers Bryne


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Bryne,

If the umpire deems that the player has started his serve then he wouldn't be allowed to do that.  If it is before he has started then it is usually allowed as long as it is not excessive.

There has to be a pause after he hits the ball in the air or onto the floor.  The ball has to be still (stopped) in his hand.

Has it been a problem?


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.