Bat touching the table

Rules

Varun Chaturvedi
Varun Chaturvedi Asked 12 years ago

If our bat touches the table while playing is it a foul?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Varun,

This is OK, you do not lose a point if your bat touches the table. ย The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand.

However if you move the table surface you lose the point.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. Weโ€™ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving ๐ŸŽฏ
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault ๐Ÿšฆ
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no ๐Ÿ–๏ธ
  • When volleying loses you the point โŒ
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net ๐Ÿ”„

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.