Bat touching the table

Rules

Pedro Saenz
Pedro Saenz Asked 13 years ago

hi, my school is gonna make a table tennis tournament and i might end up being the umpire, so i have a question about something that many people have problem with, if you serve but your bat hits the table is it a valid serve? and, if you hit the table with the bat during a rally is it valid? please answer as quickly as you can (if you could make a video for youtube it would be awesome)


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Pedro,

This is an easy one.  Your bat is allowed to touch the table.  The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand.  You also are not allowed to move the surface of the table at all.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.