Bat hitting the table rule

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 10 years ago

Parikshit Kumar

Parikshit Kumar Asked 10 years ago

What are the rules if while hitting a shot the bat hits the table?

If while serving the ball the ball hits the edge of the table on the server's side or on the receiver's side, still is it a legal serve?

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 10 years ago

Hi Parikshit,

The bat is allowed to hit the table.  The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand.

If the ball hits any of the edges of the table it is still considered in.  It must hit any part of the top surface of the table.  If it hits the side of the table then it is out. 

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.