Ball touches the edge

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

Varun Chaturvedi

Varun Chaturvedi Asked 7 years ago

If the ball touches the edge of the table is it a point for opponent or for us?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Varun,

If the ball touches anywhere on the top surface of the table it it still in.  So the edge is still considered as in.

We have a rules brochure that you can download for free in our Free Downloads section.  There is a link at the bottom of each page of the site. Once you get in there you will see a link for the Table Tennis Rules (PDF).  This will give you a simplified version of the rules for you to browse through.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Wim Nortier

Wim Nortier Posted 7 years ago

The edge issue is quite a problem. If I hit the ball from left to right towards my opponent's end, the ball can connect a slight edge and skim almost straight down and it will be regarded as being on the surface. HOWEVER, if I am standing to the side of the table (my right) and hit it towards the opponent's side and it hits the table and also jumps to my right side (opponent's left) it actually hit the side of the table even if the ball bounced higher than the table.

The latter we rule as a point to the opponent.

 

Are we correct in stating that?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Hi Wim,

That is a correct interpretation.  It can be difficult to judge to start with.  You will find though that at the top level the players know whether it is the top or side quite easily.

The rule is that the ball has to hit some part of the top surface of the table to be in.


Esteban Mendez

Esteban Mendez Posted 6 years ago

What if this happens during service? Is it still good?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Yes it still applies for the serve.


Wilana Van Zyl

Wilana Van Zyl Posted 6 years ago

So it is legal for the ball to drop off the sides of the table at the opponents side during a service and not only at the back line?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Yes that is OK.  It doesn't have to go past the end line it can be served wide.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.