Rules
USATT official rules interpretations and precedents say the toss measurement is relative to where the ball started, the relative position of the hand is not relevant. That seems like the ball could be released by the hand and be struck almost immediately after it starts to fall as long as the hand traveled the required distance upward. It wouls almost look as though the ball was hit right from the hand.
Hi Tim,
The ball needs to travel upwards at least the required distance after it leaves the hand not while it is still in contact with the hand.
I hope that clears it up.
We explain the rule around how many times the ball is allowed to bounce on your opponent's side of the table.
Watch NowBecome a free member to post a comment about this question.
tim gerg Posted 5 hours ago
that is what I thought but you didn't explain the USATT interpretation about the upward movement as relative to start of the toss not the hand. Maybe I don't understand the interpretation?