Ball Rolling on the table

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 8 years ago

Kronos Chow

Kronos Chow Asked 8 years ago

Hi coach,

Recently I have watched a shot on youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UW6RZxSQ-HA&feature=related

The ball rolls on the table after the player in blue returned it. Does rolling in table tennis considered a double (or more) bounce?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Kronos,

Interesting question.

In this case the ball does bounce a little so it would be impossible to return.  I have seen balls that skid over the table fast and are returned by the other player. 

I think in its purest form a roll would have to be considered one bounce.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.