Ball hits debris on the table

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 1 year ago

Tim Challener

Tim Challener Asked 1 year ago

During play if a ball hits some unseen debris on the table and bounces strangely should the point be replayed or does the point stand? If replayed who must declare the bounce unfair: both players and/or umpire?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 1 year ago

Hi Tim,

This is the umpires call.  Usually they will let it go and the point will stand.  Hard to show that the ball did hit the debris on the table.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.