Rules
During a match that I had, I made a smash and the ball broke during the impact, making me miss my shot. Would that be a let, or my opponent's point?
Hi Shawn,
That would usually be called a let. It would be a bit unfair if the point was awarded against you.
The ITTF rule that covers this is:
2.09.01 | The rally shall be a let |
2.09.02.04 | because the conditions of play are disturbed in a way which could affect the outcome of the rally. |
In this video we explain what happens when someone hits the ball before it bounces in a rally. This is also known as hitting the ball on the full. The point stop immediately when this happens but who's point is it? This depends on where the ball was hit. Watch the video to find out more.
Watch NowBecome a free member to post a comment about this question.