Around the Net

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 9 years ago

Steven Francis

Steven Francis Asked 9 years ago

Hello Jeff, 

1.According to this rule " 2.9.1.1 if in service the ball, in passing over or around the net assembly, touches it, provided the service is otherwise good or the ball is obstructed by the receiver or his partner;"

My question is about the "around" part, so that means the ball can be below the Net Assembly's extension? or it should be higher than Net Assembly?

2. "2.12.1 A match shall consist of the best of any odd number of games."

So my question is ... which of those scores is right & which is not? & please give me more examples of the score. 

(2-0, 3-0, 3-1, 3-2, 4-2, 4-3, 5-3, 5-4) 

 

 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Steven,

Yes, the ball can go around the net.  On a serve this isn't really a stroke that you can plan on, however during the rally this is possible if your opponeent sends you out wide.

On your second question any odd number of games is permitted, so 3 - 0, 3 - 2, 4 - 3 and 5 - 4 would all be acceptable results.  You could also win 1 - 0.

Hope this helps.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Ji-Soo Woo

Ji-Soo Woo Posted 9 years ago

Wouldn't all of the scores be possible and valid?

2-0 (best of 3)

3-0, 3-1, 3-2 (best of 5)

4-2, 4-3 (best of 7)

5-3, 5-4 (best of 9)


Steven Francis

Steven Francis Posted 9 years ago

Thanks so much Alois, but the ball can be lower than Net Assembly's extension or it should be higher?

& according to what Ji Soo said ... what decides the kind of the best? like best of 3/5/9 ... & best of one? how that could be possible?

Thanks,

Steven. 


Leslie Yin

Leslie Yin Posted 9 years ago

It doesn't matter how low it is, all that matters is that it lands on the table on the opposition's side.

Most competitions are best out of 5 with a few major international tournaments out of 7 games, but if you're playing recreationally you can play any number of games you want including just 1 game.


Steven Francis

Steven Francis Posted 9 years ago

Ahh I got it :), Thanks everyone for clarifying :)

 

Regards,

Steven. 


jolas rocha

jolas rocha Posted 9 years ago

also, you cant hit the vertical side of the table.  it is not part of the playing area.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.