Apologies when ball catches net and table edges

Table Tennis Discussion

Last updated 5 years ago

John Swinbourne

John Swinbourne Asked 6 years ago

Hi guys

Thanks for your regular emails and videos have learnt so much.  I have a question, when the ball catches the net or the table edges is it a ittf rule that you must apologise ? or simply considered  to be good etiquette ?

Seems to me that this goes both ways during any match so why not enjoy the moment when it works for you ????


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi John,

Interesting question.  It is definitely not an ITTF rule but considered good etiquette.

I guess it isn't really an apology but more a matter of acknowledging your fortune.

Maybe it would be better to just enjoy the moment...


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jean Balthazar

Jean Balthazar Posted 6 years ago

There has been a lot of discussions about this here : https://www.pingskills.com/table-tennis-forum/apologize-for-net-or-edge-ball/


david j

david j Posted 6 years ago

I don't even enjoy when i get a point because of the net/the edge. granted, i don't play in tournaments, but when i have a nice rally with someone and the point is decided by net/edge i just get disappointed.

i still apologize though, just raising my hand. it's etiquette yeah


Thomas Kunzfeld

Thomas Kunzfeld Posted 5 years ago

I guess at least 80 % of the players only apologize because they are expected to do so.

I like Alois´interpretation: "I guess it isn't really an apology but more a matter of acknowledging your fortune."



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.