Rule regarding a "carry"during a stroke

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 years ago

Phillip Simmons

Phillip Simmons Asked 3 years ago

Hello coaches, Phillip again with another question.  I can't find any rule that covers a "carry" during a return or stroke. The "carry" I am asking about is similiar to the "carry" in tennis where the ball is carried on the racket for a moment rather than a rebound off the racket.  I saw one today for the first time.  So is it legal?

I really appreciate your research on questions and quick response time.

Phillip


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi Phillip,

I think in the past it would have been a problem and a point against you but now with the new rule of being able to hit the ball more than once as long as it is not intentional I think you would get away with it.
 
The new rule adds the word deliberately:
2.10.01  Unless the rally is a let, a player shall score a point 
2.10.01.07  If an opponent deliberately strikes the ball twice in succession; 

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jason Ferdinand

Jason Ferdinand Posted 3 years ago

So it's legal?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 3 years ago

Yes as long as it is not deliberate.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.