7-0 rule

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 2 years ago

Sourav Mehra

Sourav Mehra Asked 4 years ago

Hi there. You already have answered this question but it's 3 years old now.My question is does a set end when the score is 7-0?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi Sourav,

What a coincidence.  I am just watching an old episode of “Everybody loves Raymond” and they just played a game of Ping Pong and they finished the game when it got to 7 - 0.

Actually that is not a rule and you should play the game all the way to 11 even if the score gets to 7 - 0.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jean Balthazar

Jean Balthazar Posted 4 years ago

As demonstrated right at the beginning of this otherwise very disputed match: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_WhEWHpquM


Sourav Mehra

Sourav Mehra Posted 4 years ago

Thanks for the quick response.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 4 years ago

Good find Jean.


Yap Zhi De

Yap Zhi De Posted 4 years ago

Hi Alois

            Why the deciding game of the Chinese super league is up to 7 points instead of 11.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 4 years ago

Hi Yap,

It is just something they have tried.  Do you think it is better?


Yap Zhi De

Yap Zhi De Posted 4 years ago

Hi Alois

I do not think it is better as players are not used to matches to 7 points and if a player got a 7-4 lead, it is very possible for the other player to catch up, but now the player wins the game 7-4.


saggy Mcsags

saggy Mcsags Posted 2 years ago

They weren't playing a set to 7.  It's an old street-rule:  if you can get to 7 before the other person gets a point, it's considered a "shutout."  Depending on if you're playing sets or just one game, it ends that particular game.  "7-0 shutout."



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.