White line rule

Rules

Tri Vu
Tri Vu Asked 7 years ago

Hi,

A friend told me that if you serve and the first bounce is hit on the white line, the serve would have to be served again is this true?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Tri,

No that isn't a rule.  The white lines are all part of the top of the table and only there to help with sighting the ends.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Serve Bouncing More Than Once

We explain the rule around how many times the ball is allowed to bounce on your opponent's side of the table.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


D K

D K Posted 7 years ago

Though,being able to serve on the white lines purely could be an useful art,what do you think,Alois?

 


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.