Time Between Points

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 4 years ago

AmekunRaiane Rivadeneira

AmekunRaiane Rivadeneira Asked 4 years ago

Hi Pingskills team,

I have a question regarding the intervals. After a point has been made, How long is too long before the Umpire calls upon your attention and says "Play"?

10 seconds, 20 seconds? we are currently having a debate about this and we hope that you are able to help us :) 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi Amekun,

There is no stipulation in the rules.  The rule just talks about the play being continuous.

In the Handbook for Match Officials it has the following:

 

13.2 Time-wasting

13.2.1  The requirement is for play to be continuous throughout a match, apart from authorised intervals, but if, for example, the ball goes outside the playing area, clearly play cannot continue until it is returned. The intent of the regulation is to prevent deliberate time- wasting, such as by repeated bouncing of the ball, long pauses before serving and prolonged discussions with a doubles partner, which should be firmly discouraged. 

So, I guess there is no firm answer as far as number of seconds but more a principle.

 

 

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.