The paddle leaving your hand

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 years ago

James Jim

James Jim Asked 7 years ago

Hi coach,

If the bat hits the ball over the net while at the same time the bat is dropped (accidentally) during the swing, is the ball still in play or is this a violation?  Secondly, the player can't reach so he intentionally swings and lets the bat leave his hand to reach the ball?  Are either of these, or both, situations illegal?

Thanks,

James Strom

(I am learning much from you guys and enjoying it more than ever.  Thanks again!)


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi James,

The bat has to be in your hand when you hit the ball.  If it falls after you hit it then the point continues, but you would need to pick it up again to play the next shot.

Hope this answers the question.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Nigel Fewster

Nigel Fewster Posted 5 years ago

Sorry Alois I am not entirely happy with your last comment. You say you have to pick the racket up again to play next point but rule 2.05.07 suggests you can hit the ball just with the hand below the wrist,  so if you dropped your racket you could hit it back with the palm of your hand! One could say that because you aren't holding the racket then your racket hand could be brought into question.

Could you respond with your thoughts or have I answered my own question.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

Hi Nigel,

Interesting take on the rule.

The racket does need to be in your hand to be a legal shot.  I think the relevant part in the rule is that it state “racket hand” so it would assume the racket is in the hand at the time.


utkarsh agarwal

utkarsh agarwal Posted 5 years ago

If we're in a situation when the ball hits the ball and it hits the net and lands on our side correctly and if we're not able tobreach the ball we throw the racket and successfully hit the ball.is it a foul?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

The bat must be in the hand when it touches the ball.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

Here is a comment from Graeme Ireland, our super International Ref.

This is covered in the definition section (my highlighting)

2.5.7      A player strikes the ball if he or she touches it in play with his or her racket, held in the hand, or with his or her racket hand below the wrist.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.