The double bounce in service in doubles

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 9 months ago

Sudhanshu Singh

Sudhanshu Singh Asked 9 months ago

Can the ball take double bounce in opponents side during service in doubles match. You explained in a video but some people only play it for singles. Can you please tell us for doubles as well sir. Please reply. 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 9 months ago

Hi Sudhanshu,

Yes the ball is allowed to bounce short on the table for doubles as well.  So if the returner let the ball the ball could bounce as many times as you wish.

Just to clarify though that the returner must still hit the ball after the first bounce otherwise the server wins the point.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jasper Low

Jasper Low Posted 9 months ago

Only difference in doubles serving is that you have to serve from your right hand box to your opponent's right hand box



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.