Swinging and missing a serve

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

Rey Gomez

Rey Gomez Asked 8 years ago

Hi Alois! I just want to ask if for an instance, you throw the ball up but you didn't hit it when it got down. But you did motion with your bat, what would the result be? Would a point be given to the opponent?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Rey,

That is a point to your opponent.

As soon as you throw the ball up the ball is definitely in play.  Even if you don't swing at it you would lose the point.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Rey Gomez

Rey Gomez Posted 8 years ago

Thanks Alois. I was a bit confused at first, but now I'm not. Thanks.


Rahul Kumar

Rahul Kumar Posted 7 years ago

also another question.....if someone throws the ball up and instead of hitting it with the racket, he catches it again with his free hand...is this a point to the opponent or not?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Hi Rahul,

Yes that would be a point to his opponent as well because he has thrown the ball up it is in play.


Rahul Kumar

Rahul Kumar Posted 7 years ago

very well.....there is a player here who used to throw the ball upwards and if he missed the ball he caught it with his hands stating that its still not in play....like he paid more attention to catching the ball rather than hitting it with the racket. But now he learnt his serves and never needs to do this, so no problem now :D



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.