Swinging and missing a serve

Rules

Rey Gomez
Rey Gomez Asked 13 years ago

Hi Alois! I just want to ask if for an instance, you throw the ball up but you didn't hit it when it got down. But you did motion with your bat, what would the result be? Would a point be given to the opponent?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Rey,

That is a point to your opponent.

As soon as you throw the ball up the ball is definitely in play.  Even if you don't swing at it you would lose the point.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Rey Gomez

Rey Gomez Posted 13 years ago

Thanks Alois. I was a bit confused at first, but now I'm not. Thanks.


Rahul Kumar

Rahul Kumar Posted 13 years ago

also another question.....if someone throws the ball up and instead of hitting it with the racket, he catches it again with his free hand...is this a point to the opponent or not?


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 13 years ago

Hi Rahul,

Yes that would be a point to his opponent as well because he has thrown the ball up it is in play.


Rahul Kumar

Rahul Kumar Posted 13 years ago

very well.....there is a player here who used to throw the ball upwards and if he missed the ball he caught it with his hands stating that its still not in play....like he paid more attention to catching the ball rather than hitting it with the racket. But now he learnt his serves and never needs to do this, so no problem now :D


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.