Serving with the edge of the bat

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

Arnon Thaicharoen

Arnon Thaicharoen Asked 7 years ago

Just curious about this aspect of the service rule.

I looked up the official service rule, it says nothing about service having to start with the rubber hitting the ball. What if I hit the ball with the edge of the bat ,intentionally.  Would it be a good service if all else complies to the service rule?

Thanks.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Arnon,

Yes it would be a good serve as long as you don't hit it twice.  However it may be a reasonable surprise for your opponent but difficult to make a genuinely good serve with the edge of your bat.  You are probable better off to work on your spin serves using the rubber... especially since you probably paid good money for it.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Arnon Thaicharoen

Arnon Thaicharoen Posted 7 years ago

Thanks, Alois. By analogy, serving with the handle or the knuckles of the playing hand is also good too. Hm...will try it in the next serving session. :)


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Yes it is but when hitting with the hand or knuckles it would almost be impossible to only hit it once.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.