Serving Rules

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 10 years ago

Ralph Brooks Unknown

Ralph Brooks Unknown Asked 11 years ago

Can I stand any were behind the white line when serving. My son said I must be right at the table. I think he is wrong. Thanks...

Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb Answered 11 years ago

Hi Ralph,

You are right and your son is wrong. 

You can serve from anywhere behind the end of the table. You can be 1mm behind the table or 10 metres behind the table. You can move left of the table or right of the table. As long as you serve from behind the end of the table and the imaginary straight line.

In singles you can serve the ball anywhere on the table. Doubles is the exception where the serve always goes from the right hand side of the table to the opposite diagonal.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Kon Unknown

Kon Unknown Posted 10 years ago

I was wondering if the ball had to be HIT BEHIND THE LINE

or your whole body has to be behind the line?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 10 years ago

Hi Kon, The ball has to be behind the line from the start of the service till it is struck.  You can be in front of the end line as long as you comply with the other rules.

Here is an extract from the ITTF rules which will clarify it for you. From the start of service until it is struck, the ball shall be above the level of the playing surface and behind the server's end line, and it shall not be hidden from the receiver by the server or his doubles partner or by anything they wear or carry.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.