Serving behind the table

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 years ago

Prabhat nag

Prabhat nag Asked 3 years ago

Is it OK to serve from over the table? Also I have seen some of my friends tap their feet while serving why do they do that?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi Prabhat,

The ball has to be behind the end line when you hit it for the serve.  If you hit it when it is over the table you lose the point.

One thing players do often get confused about is that you can also be behind the extension of the end line.  So you don't need to be directly behind.

Players sometimes tap their feet as part of their serving action as they then move to the next ball.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Prabhat nag

Prabhat nag Posted 3 years ago

Thank you for your quick reply. Appreciated!

Also do you have any video from where we can learn this tapping action?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 3 years ago

No we don't have a video on it.  It is not something that you need to do but is more something that happens with your action sometimes.


Arjan van Luttikhuizen

Arjan van Luttikhuizen Posted 3 years ago

Alois, what would you say about a person who tosses the ball from 5-10 cm in front of the end line? They toss the ball fairly high and fairly straight, only slightly backwards so the contact point is always behind the end line. Is this a legal serve?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 3 years ago

Hi Arjan,

The rule states that it needs to be behind the end line from the start of the service so it would be a fault.

2.06.04  From the start of service until it is struck, the ball shall be above the level of the playing surface and behind the server's end line, and it shall not be hidden from the receiver by the server or his or her doubles partner or by anything they wear or carry. 


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.