Service Position

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

nate s

nate s Asked 6 years ago

Hello, my question is if you can change you position after you throw the ball up into the air? i thought you could but I just wanted to make sure.

Thanks, Nate


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Nate,

You are allowed to move around after you throw the ball up.  Once the ball is up in the air it is in play so you need to continue the rally from there.  You are not allowed to catch it again.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

nate s

nate s Posted 6 years ago

Thank you very much


Frendy Halim

Frendy Halim Posted 6 years ago

if when i throw the ball and because of accident or something that i must catch it. is it legal ?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

No, once the ball has left your hand it is in play and you must hit it.


Frendy Halim

Frendy Halim Posted 6 years ago

oh ok, that's why we must stay and ready

thank you :D



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.