Service - False Start

Rules

Brian Coakley
Brian Coakley Asked 14 years ago

My opponent lifts his arm with the ball in it, in a motion similar to a toss, but does not actually toss the ball, the ball remains resting in his hand. He does this in an attempt to entice the receiver to move prior to an actually serve, and be off-balance for the actual serve. He'll sometimes repeat the motion 2 or 3 times before serving the ball.

It's not clear to me whether this is a legal tactic, annoying as it may be. The distraction rule comes to mind, since it's clear he's looking to catch the receiver off guard but he doesn't seem to be breaking any service rules. Would love to hear your thoughts on this.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 14 years ago

Hi Brian,

This would be a fault.  In the rues the servce starts before the ball is tossed up.

Service shall start with the ball resting freely on the open palm of the server's stationary free hand.  

Therefore the serve would have started.  He would be called a fault in competition. 


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Doubles Serving Rules

In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.