Server loses bat on service

Rules

Tony Coe
Tony Coe Asked 13 years ago

Server serves a legal serve but in the process loses his bat which goes flying out of his hand.

Receiver fails to return serve and claims distraction as a result of flying bat.

Whose point?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Tony,

If it causes your opponent to be distracted the umpire will call a let.  It wouldn't be fair to let the point go on.

You would find in most situations the players would stop the point anyway and the server would allow a let to be played.

It is covered in the rules on a Let.

2.09.01  The rally shall be a let 
2.09.01.03  if failure to make a service or a return or otherwise to comply with the Laws is due to a disturbance outside the control of the player;


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ceiling

When the ball hits the ceiling the point is over. You must hit the ball directly back onto the table otherwise you lose the point. In International tournaments the roof needs to be at least 5 metres above the playing surface but in local competitions you might often encounter much lower ceilings.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Tony Coe

Tony Coe Posted 13 years ago

Many thanks for you prompt response.  We did the right thing then by playing a let.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.