Serve with the ball hitting your hand

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 years ago

Tim Challender

Tim Challender Asked 3 years ago

Is it legal to deliberately serve with the ball hitting the hand. This provides a good deception because the hand is softer than a bat. But is it legal?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi Tim,

Yes it is legal but it will not really be effective.  It comes out too slowly and gives your opponent too much time.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Johan B

Johan B Posted 3 years ago

Maybe with a huge movement and the ball still going pretty short and completely spinless (for obvious reasons)


Jean Balthazar

Jean Balthazar Posted 3 years ago

Can I put some rubber on the back of my hand and create some really unpredictable serves ? innocent

Just kidding... Best wishes and a happy new year to all Pingskillers ! cool


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 3 years ago

Happy New Year to you Jean... Maybe we can experiment with the rubber... They would be very handy shots to be able to play...


Johan B

Johan B Posted 3 years ago

Lol, first pun of the year.. nailed it!



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.