Serve: game starts when toss

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

Esi Darap

Esi Darap Asked 6 years ago

Hi, I know the game starts when someone toss the ball for serve. I remember the old rule of being able to serve again if you toss and it drops without hitting anything (where now you lose a point). I have searched the ittf rules in serve and cannot find the "new" rule. Can you please guide me to the correct ittf rules section. I am trying to convince a senior player that we now lose a point even if the ball drop without touching anything after toss. Thanks.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi,

You are right that if you toss the ball up the ball is in play.  In fact this has always been the rule.  There are some players that play it differently, especially those with Tennis backgrounds where the rule is different.

The rule is implied in this section:

2.06.01 Service shall start with the ball resting freely on the open palm of the server's stationary free hand. 

So that is the start of the service.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Frendy Halim

Frendy Halim Posted 6 years ago

what about if there's an accident ? so what i mean is when i'm ready to serve but because my hand is wet or anything else that make the ball resting freely from my palm

is it let or not ?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

That would be up to the umpire to decide.


Frendy Halim

Frendy Halim Posted 6 years ago

oh i see... thank you.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.