Rules moving onto opponents side

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 8 years ago

Tim B

Tim B Asked 8 years ago

Hi Pingskills

Not sure if this question has been asked and answered before.

If a ball was hit to you with so much backspin, or clipped the net, that after landing on your court it bounces back over the net, are you still allowed to make contact with the ball after it crossed the net and land it on your opponent's court? I believe this is illegal in tennis, but not sure for table tennis.

Thanks

Tommy


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Tommy,

Good question.  You are allowed to reach over the net or even go onto the other side of the court to return this ball.

It can happen that once you get there you are hitting the ball down on to their side and towards your end of the table. 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.