Rules moving onto opponents side

Rules

Tim B
Tim B Asked 13 years ago

Hi Pingskills

Not sure if this question has been asked and answered before.

If a ball was hit to you with so much backspin, or clipped the net, that after landing on your court it bounces back over the net, are you still allowed to make contact with the ball after it crossed the net and land it on your opponent's court? I believe this is illegal in tennis, but not sure for table tennis.

Thanks

Tommy


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Tommy,

Good question.  You are allowed to reach over the net or even go onto the other side of the court to return this ball.

It can happen that once you get there you are hitting the ball down on to their side and towards your end of the table. 


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ball on the Full

In this video we explain what happens when someone hits the ball before it bounces in a rally. This is also known as hitting the ball on the full. The point stop immediately when this happens but who's point is it? This depends on where the ball was hit. Watch the video to find out more.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.