Ball not passing over the net

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 2 years ago

Aaron Lin

Aaron Lin Asked 2 years ago

https://youtu.be/iWCVZMeM62w?t=4816

In this point we see the NZ player successfully return the ball but it was around the net (didn't go above it) and it counted as his point.

Previously i had assumed the point is only awarded if it goes over the net only?

In table tennis what is the rule regarding this type of scenario?

P.S and Thanks Alois and Jeff on casting this match here :D


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 2 years ago

Hi Aaron,

This was an amazing shot... we were happy to be broadcasting it.

The ball doesn't have to go over the top of the net to be in.  It can go around the net.  It just isn't allowed to go through the net... if there is a hole in it...


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Mehmet Demir

Mehmet Demir Posted 2 years ago

your Announcment is Very good . is there amy video like this (with jeff and you announcer)


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 2 years ago

We also did some commentary on the PingSkills Classic.  These are on the site in our Match Analysis section.


Mehmet Demir

Mehmet Demir Posted 2 years ago

thanks a lot


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 2 years ago

Here is an additional cement from our rules expert Graeme Ireland.

...about the ball going “over or around” the net. This rule no longer exists as it was a bit confusing as people tended to take it literally rather than knowing that it was defined elsewhere:

2.5.14 The ball shall be regarded as passing over or around the net assembly if it passes anywhere other than between the net and the net post or between the net and the playing surface.

This definition has now been deleted and the new rule for service is:

2.6.3 As the ball is falling the server shall strike it so that it touches first his or her court and then touches directly the receiver's court;

And for the return:

2.7.1 The ball, having been served or returned, shall be struck so that it touches the opponent's court, either directly or after touching the net assembly.

 

This allows for the ball to go over, under, around, or not over at all if it bounces back over the net and is then struck before hitting the table. This was always the intention and interpretation of the old rule but for many people it was misunderstood.


Aaron Lin

Aaron Lin Posted 2 years ago

Thanks Alois !



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.