Referee Not Following The Game

Table Tennis Discussion

Last updated 9 years ago

ram enjoy2000

ram enjoy2000 Asked 9 years ago

Dear Coach:

Whether players be it international or national remember their points while playing because sometimes the referree can also make a mistake during the changeover.

In a corporate tournament that is going on in my office, the referree was not at all following the game and either he was telling the wrong score and also he forgot the changeover of serve.  So players felt irritated and decided to follow the score themselves.

Whether former international or national level players are allowed to become a referree in table tennis or anyone who has a good theoretical knowledge about the game can become a referree.

Is it possible at an international level the referree forgetting the points and not following the game? Whether this has ever happened in a international game. 

Kindly give your valuable thoughts on this.

Thanks and Regards,
Ram


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Ram,

It happens at all levels. Umpires can also be distracted by lots of things.  They do usually have a scoreboard that will help them to keep track of the score but they can make errors in decisions sometimes.  It is just a matter of accepting it and getting on with it most of the time.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.