Rebounding balls

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 2 years ago

Alhaj Siddig

Alhaj Siddig Asked 2 years ago

If the ball rebounds over the net from the opponent's part of the table entering that of his rival, do the rules allow him to strike it nevertheless or does he lose the point?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 2 years ago

Hi Alhaj,

You are allowed to go over to your opponent's side of the table and hit the ball if it has already hit your side of the table.  It doesn't happen very often but it is possible.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Alhaj Siddig

Alhaj Siddig Posted 2 years ago

Strange rule indeed. I thought the opponent is only allowed to hit the ball on its way to his rival's side before it effectively quits his own side and only his racket may enter the other side of the table. Thank you very much indeed.


Karmel Barghouthi

Karmel Barghouthi Posted 2 years ago

Hi Alios,
Even if my racket crossed the net? I mean some times the ball have a lot of backspin which make it cross the net again to his side after bouncing in my side.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 2 years ago

Hi Karmel,

Yes even if your racket crosse the net it is OK as long as you don't touch the net. 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.