Ready or not....

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

Rutvik Thakkar

Rutvik Thakkar Asked 6 years ago

While playing with my opponent I felt that something was wrong when tossed the ball for a serve my opponent asked me to stop as he wasn't ready then after a pause of 4 to 5 seconds I served again and again the same thing happened  finally when the fourth time I served he got ready so is it legal or once the ball is tossed up he cant stop me? And once the serve is done can he take the ball in his hand and argue that he wasn't ready and what if he returns the serve with his bat and says that he wasn't ready? smile


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Rutvik,

Play should be continuous.  So unless something has happened the other player in normal circumstances should get ready straight away to play the next point.

If there is an umpire he should determine if the other player was ready or not.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.