Racket Rules

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 9 years ago

Jordan Boudreau

Jordan Boudreau Asked 9 years ago

Hey this is Jordan,

I was wondering if a players is ever allowed to throw his racket in order to reach the ball, and thus, knock it over the net. Another related question is if he or she is allowed to actually hit the ball with his playing hand, whether the racket is in his hand or not. I've been trying to read the rules and it's very confusing.

I appreciate it that you take the time to answer all of our questions.

 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Jordan,

You do have to have the bat in your hand when it hits the ball.  So if you throw it and the bat hits the ball it is the other players point.  

Up to your wrist is considered part of your bat, so if the bat is in your hand and you hit it cleanly it is a good hit.  You will find though that most of the time when you do this the ball will hit your hand twice or it will hit both your hand and you bat which is a double hit.  

You and not allowed to hit the ball with your hand if the bat is not in it.

Hope this has cleared it up. 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Marius van Eck

Marius van Eck Posted 9 years ago

Actually unintentional double hitting is alowed in the new rules

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 9 years ago

Thanks Marius.

Yes the new rule is in

2.10.01.06 if an opponent deliberately strikes the ball twice in succession; 

So now it has to be deliberatley struck twice to be a point against you.


Jordan Boudreau

Jordan Boudreau Posted 9 years ago

Oh. Alright cool, thanks Marius


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.