Position of the bat of the receiver during the serve

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 years ago

david j

david j Asked 3 years ago

Hi!

I got a question concerning the rules. I'm playing with long pips on the backhand and inverted rubber on the forehand. while my opponent is making his serve, do i have to hold my bat over the table where he can see it or can i hide it under the table and choose which side i want to use to receive the serve?

Right now i keep my bat over the table just in case the other option is illegal and twiddle the bat right as my opponent is concentrating on his serve, but i wanted to make sure that the other option is illegal, because if its not i don't see a reason not to do it.

hope you can help me.

Kind regards, David


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi David,

You are allowed to hold your bat under the table when receiving.  It is a tacit that you can definitely imply legally.  Give it a try and see if it has some effect.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jean Balthazar

Jean Balthazar Posted 3 years ago

I've seen people hiding their bat behind their body in preparation of a pendulum serve as well. As it's a slower shot, the element of surprize is reduced, but it still can be a bit disorienting for the receiver.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.