Order of Serve in each set of a doubles match

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 2 years ago

san s

san s Asked 2 years ago

Suppose we have two doubles team playing a game of 5 sets.
Team 1: A and B
Team 2: X and Y

Set-1
Team 1 wins the toss and decides that in Set 1, A will start the serve and team 2 decides that Y will pick the serve

Set-2
I believe in set 2 order would be reversed which means that Y from team-2 will start the serve by serving to A from team-1

Set-3
Who from team-1 should start the seerve in set-3?,
is it allowed that A can start the serve again in set-3 so that Y has to pick it again?

 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 2 years ago

Hi San,

In the second set team XY has the choice of who will serve first.  So either X or Y is allowed to start serving.  If X serves then B has to receive.  If Y serves then A has to receive.

In the third set A or B is allowed to start serving and then the same order as set one needs to be followed.

I hope this clears it up for you.

This is the relevant rule:

 

  1. 2.13.4  In each game of a doubles match, the pair having the right to serve first shall choose which of them will do so and in the first game of a match the receiving pair shall decide which of them will receive first; in subsequent games of the match, the first server having been chosen, the first receiver shall be the player who served to him or her in the preceding game.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

san s

san s Posted 2 years ago

Thanks Alois, that answers my query!



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.