On the Serve can the ball touch the net

Rules

galleon kai
galleon kai Asked 12 years ago

When Serve can the ball touch the net ?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Kai,

If the ball touches the net and goes over correctly after that it is called a let.  You stop the point and replay the point.  You never lose a point for serving a let, even if you do 10 in a row.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ceiling

When the ball hits the ceiling the point is over. You must hit the ball directly back onto the table otherwise you lose the point. In International tournaments the roof needs to be at least 5 metres above the playing surface but in local competitions you might often encounter much lower ceilings.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.