Last updated 7 years ago
Is it a foul if the opponent starts talking to himself in middle of the match or the audience is too noisy?
If there is a sudden unexpected noise then the umpire can call a let. At major events there is noise all the time so it never really comes up. If however you are at an event with one court only being played and there is a loud noise the umpire may call a let. You would find that the players sometimes both stop playing and will almost call a let themselves.
If your opponent is distracting you with their talking then you have a right to ask the umpire to ask them to stop. It is a distraction that shouldn't be allowed.
Become a free member to post a comment about this question.