Moving the table

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 years ago

Abhinav Basu

Abhinav Basu Asked 5 years ago

hi, according to the ITTF rule book. 2.10 A POINT 2.10.1 Unless the rally is a let, a player shall score a point 2.10.1.8 if an opponent, or anything an opponent wears or carries, moves the playing surface; Does this means that if the racket touches the playing surface, the opponent scores a point.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 5 years ago

Hi Abhinav,

This is talking about actually moving the surface of the table.  You are allowed to touch the table with anything except your free hand.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Abhinav Basu

Abhinav Basu Posted 5 years ago

but I think that if the racket touches the table the playing surface moves and if the racket touch is allowed then anyone can bang the table with the racket to return a shot.

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

Hi Abhinav,

The racket often touches the table and doesn’t move the surface.  This is OK.  As for wilful damage that is another matter.  I am sure the umpire will be able to tell the difference between the two.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.