Rules
when serving in doubles, if it is on the line, it is in. Does that refer only to the contact area of the ball, or does it include the overhang? Please refer me to the rule that clarifies it.
Hi Tim,
The line is regarded as in for any part of the ball that touches the line.
Here is the relevant rule as to what is regarded as the correct half.
2.1.6 For doubles, each court shall be divided into 2 equal half-courts by a white centre line, 3mm wide, running parallel with the side lines; the centre line shall be regarded as part of each right half-court.
In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.
Watch NowBecome a free member to post a comment about this question.
tim gerg Posted 2 years ago
so overhang of the diameter is not considered, only the actual point of contact to the surface? I can't imagine the refs actually call it that way, it would be very difficult. I made a diagram to illustrate what I am saying but can't figure out how to attach it.