I'm gonna whap my partner

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 4 years ago

Jay Bird

Jay Bird Asked 4 years ago

hello again ...

when I play doubles my sometimes partner will call a "net" on my serve ... when clearly my ball was a inch over the net ... so he's wrong with the call.   I asked him to let other side call the nets on my serve and he says no ... he'll call them whenever.   So .............. who's in the right here?  Can anyone call a net serve ?

Thanks guys,

Jaybird


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi Jaybird,

Sounds like you need a new partner...

There are no rules around this as all the rules are written for tournaments where there is an umpire.  In this case, only the umpire can call a let.

You probably need to talk it over before the match and work out who is going to call it and all agree to the same rule.

Does anyone else have this issue?


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Johan B

Johan B Posted 4 years ago

No, but a guy on my club tries to call lets whenever the serve comes short with backspin because he mistakes the way the ball stops in the air for a touch on the net :P



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.