How to do Yoshimura serve

Table Tennis Serving

Last updated 4 months ago

Arsh Arsh

Arsh Arsh Asked 2 years ago

I saw a table tennis match on YouTube yoshimura's opponent was not able to return any serve.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 2 years ago

Hi Arsh,

He has an excellent serve.  There are a lot of variations on the serve.  He does a Pendulum and a Reverse Pendulum serve with a lot of body motion and wrist.

He is able to generate backspin and topspin on these serves and the fast movement of his wrist makes it difficult to tell which spin he is doing.

Our Must Learn Serves section will help you out with the serves to start with.

 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jasper Low

Jasper Low Posted 7 months ago

But is his serve legal? He seems to hide the ball with his head...


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 months ago

I think a lot of players might do that.  Hard to tell unless you are at the other end of the table.


Jasper Low

Jasper Low Posted 7 months ago

Interesting... Might need a video on how to do his serve. His serve is pretty unusual.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 months ago

Yes a lot of players have difficulty returning his serve. 


Sai Tatipalli

Sai Tatipalli Posted 5 months ago

Can u pls make a video on how to do the Yoshimura serve and how to return it pls?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 months ago

Hi Sai,

I think the best is to work on the Pendulum Serve and Reverse Pendulum Serve that we show you.  He is doing these serves but does them exceptionally well.


D K

D K Posted 5 months ago

I have seen some slowmotion where it is explained that his serve is actually illegal,because he really hides the contactpoint behind his head.
I have also noticed that many players who tend to do a high toss while leaned forward actually have the ball exactly beside the head,so that the ball is only partially hidden behind the head.
But also depends on the view,camera is not at the oponent's head


Jean Balthazar

Jean Balthazar Posted 4 months ago

It's funny how this debate continues to go on. The rule 2.6.4 states that "From the start of the service until it is struck, the ball shall be above the level of the playing surface and behind he server's end line, and it shall not be hidden from the receiver by the server or his or her double partner or by anything they wear or carry". So the mere fact that the opponent's view of the ball gets obstructed by Yoshimura's head at any time (contact point or not) makes it illegal. This is also why you have to remove the throwing arm out of the way, even in the case you would hold it above the contact point.

This being said, the inapplicability of this rule has been discussed so many times. I certainly do not want to reopen the debate here. According to the current rule, Yoshimura's serve is illegal, but at the same time it's absolutely impossible for any umpire to call it out, since his angle of view is completely different from the receiving player's angle of view.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.