Hitting the ball while it's above the opponent's side

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 years ago

Rishav Sinha

Rishav Sinha Asked 5 years ago

Hi Alois!

If my opponent serves with great backspin such that after hitting on my side it tends to go to my opponent's side of the table, am i allowed to hit the ball while it's in the air but above the opponent's side of the table?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 5 years ago

Hi Rishav,

Yes you are allowed to hit it when it is over their side.  It can happen sometimes because of the backspin on the ball.

You are allowed to move anywhere around the table.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.