Hiding the ball illegal

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 months ago

Anton Strand

Anton Strand Asked 7 months ago

Hi, I have seen some players who raise their non-playing hand when serving harder, isn't it illegal? beacause you are not allowed to hide the ball behind your arm.

AN EXAMPLE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WmHMV9OYRz4&t=305s

 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 months ago

Hi Anton,

It is hard to tell from the angle of the footage but you are not allowed to hide the contact of the ball with your free hand.

It is a rule that is difficult for the umpires to judge from where they are sitting as well.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.