Etiquette let or not a let

Table Tennis Discussion

Last updated 3 years ago

Nigel C

Nigel C Asked 3 years ago

Alois and Jeff,

What are your opinions on points that should or should not be a let?

Sometimes on the serve the ball will catch the top of the net but only one person sees it! This has happened to me twice recently both match points  - one where I was serving for the match and one in a tournament where I was trying to save match point. The first I didn't see, my opponent thought it had caught the net, the umpire didn't see it. The second one where I was receiving I thought it was a let but again no one else thought so. In both cases the point went to the player who hadn't seen a 'let'.

My personal opinion is that I am happy to play a let that I haven't seen. I like to win but I don't like to win at all cost and want to be within the rules and be sporting towards my opponent. I have always been taught though that it is up to the umpire to make a decision. I don't wish to influence his/her judgment one way or another. In fact I have read that there are people who in game where they are points ahead will gladly say "oh that's a let" when they win a point, so that they can convince the umpire that they are honest. If there is a close end later in the same match and there is a contentious call the umpire may believe that the 'honest' player will still be honest and rule in their favor.

In both of the examples of actual points I didn't say anything. Do we (especially at lower levels where umpires sometimes, and I include myself in this, need help) speak up or do we just wait for the 'Official' decision.

I want to be friendly and fair but don't want to have anyone try calling let every time I get to match point.

Have you had points where you are the only one convinced that it was a let serve or even that a ball did or didn't catch an edge. How vocal were you?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi Nigel,

I think the best thing to do is put your hand up while you are playing the point to indicate that you have seen a let.  Then it is up to the umpire to make a decision.

In practice what usually happens is that the other player will make a decision on what they will do.  In most cases the other player will just accept that it is a let and will stop the point.  I think that is probably the way to go in most cases unless the player has 'history'.

It is very much a case by case situation.

It has happened to me a lot when playing.  My protests depended on the 'reputation' of my opponent.

Would like to hear other players' opinions on this one.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Rohan Keogh

Rohan Keogh Posted 3 years ago

I think it is a common occurrence. It certainly is in my club-level matches.  I like to play 'benefit of the doubt' in favour of the player that saw the let.  It is just good sportsmanship. But if my opponent doesn't feel the same way I just let it go and play their call.  Arguing the point just gets me riled up and I lose focus for the next point.

If an opponent only ever calls a let that I don't see on critical points, in an important match, then I'd probably challenge. 

At club level, if the opponent calls a let, they have probably distracted themselves from the return anyway and in the end, you don't actually loose a point as you would do with an incorrect call on whether the ball hit the edge or side of the table.


felix Oak

felix Oak Posted 3 years ago

its the judge who need to say if they are any let or not let. 

 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.