Doubles Fault Question

Rules

blake heiner
blake heiner Asked 9 years ago

In doubles you need to serve from right square, over the net, then into opponents right square.  

But what if hits your right square, passes cleanly over the net, and lands in the opponents left square?  

Is that considered a fault or a let? 

If it is a fault, do you lose a point immediately?

PS thank you for your awesome videos and responses to my questions.comments on youtube!


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Blake,

Glad you are enjoying PingSkills.

If the ball lands on the wrong half your opponent side in doubles, you lose the point straight away.  No second chances with serving unless it hits the net on the way over and lands in the correct area.


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


blake heiner

blake heiner Posted 9 years ago

Thank you for your quick response!  Since asking my original question, I thought of another variation of the same question.  

Suppose on a serve you hit your right square, it touches the net, and lands in the opponents left square. is that a let or a fault?


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 9 years ago

That is also a fault and you lose the point.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.