Doubles Fault Question

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 years ago

blake heiner

blake heiner Asked 3 years ago

In doubles you need to serve from right square, over the net, then into opponents right square.  

But what if hits your right square, passes cleanly over the net, and lands in the opponents left square?  

Is that considered a fault or a let? 

If it is a fault, do you lose a point immediately?

PS thank you for your awesome videos and responses to my questions.comments on youtube!


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi Blake,

Glad you are enjoying PingSkills.

If the ball lands on the wrong half your opponent side in doubles, you lose the point straight away.  No second chances with serving unless it hits the net on the way over and lands in the correct area.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

blake heiner

blake heiner Posted 3 years ago

Thank you for your quick response!  Since asking my original question, I thought of another variation of the same question.  

Suppose on a serve you hit your right square, it touches the net, and lands in the opponents left square. is that a let or a fault?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 3 years ago

That is also a fault and you lose the point.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.